Kelowna eBike Trails (2026): 9 Rides, Checked Against Each Owner's Rules

Zeus with the Samebike CY20 Pro on a lakeside gravel trail: a Playcut.ai rendering made from Samebike's own photograph of the CY20 Pro.
Zeus eBikes, a Canadian e-bike retailer, read the rules each Kelowna-area trail owner publishes and matched them to the bikes we sell. Around Kelowna, who owns the trail decides what an e-bike may do there, and the trails on this page belong to seven owners: the City of Kelowna, the District of Lake Country, the Okanagan Indian Band, two regional districts, BC Parks and Recreation Sites and Trails BC.
Last updated: 3 November 2026. Every rule below was read that day from its owner's page, bylaw or policy, or from the report named beside it.
- The owners' own words, read 3 November 2026: RDNO's Bylaw 2834 and trail page, RDCO's Bylaw 1427 and park rules, BC Parks' Myra-Bellevue and cycling pages, Recreation Sites and Trails BC's e-bike policy and its trail records for the Kettle Valley Rail Trail, Gillard and Smith Creek. kelowna.ca refused our reader, so the City's pages come from the Internet Archive's copies dated 9 January, 1 February, 25 March and 27 August 2026.
- News only where the owner's record was not online: RDNO's 15 June 2022 resolution as quoted by Beach Radio Kelowna, and the 5 August 2026 opening as reported by Castanet.
- The law: B.C. Reg. 64/2024, 234/96 and 261/96 on bclaws.gov.bc.ca, current to 27 October 2026.
- The bikes: each maker's Canadian product page read three ways on 3 November 2026, plus Samebike's manuals for three models.
- The questions: what riders type into Google about Kelowna's trails (1,848 suggestions), our Search Console data and four AI answer engines.
Quick Answer: Around Kelowna, an e-bike that meets B.C.'s rules (a motor rated 500 W or less in total that cannot push past 32 km/h, and working pedals) may ride every open section of the Okanagan Rail Trail with or without a throttle, Kelowna's paved shared-use paths, and regional-park trails signed for cycling, such as the Mission Creek Greenway (15 km/h unless posted). Myra Canyon's 18 trestles take pedal-assist (Class 1) e-bikes only. On the Kettle Valley Rail Trail outside the park, a throttle bike may use the stretches shared with motor traffic. Gillard and Smith Creek are mountain-bike networks. Where to buy: the 19 bikes in our table below, from the Samebike CY20 Pro folder to the Addmotor Citytri E-310 trike; every one has a throttle or pure-electric mode, so none is a Myra Canyon trestle bike.
On this page
- Which Kelowna trails allow e-bikes
- Okanagan Rail Trail
- Myra Canyon trestles
- Kettle Valley Rail Trail toward Penticton
- Kelowna's paved paths and the Mission Creek Greenway
- Knox Mountain and the mountain-bike networks
- Which of our bikes fit these trails
- Rules on every Kelowna trail
- Frequently asked questions
- The bottom line
- Sources
Which Kelowna trails allow e-bikes?
A new stretch of the Okanagan Rail Trail officially opened near Kelowna's airport on 5 August 2026, yet the trail's rules still change from one owner to the next. Buy the wrong kind of e-bike and Myra Canyon's trestles are closed to you, because the park that owns them takes pedal-assist bikes only. The table gives each trail's owner, its rule for throttle and pedal-assist bikes, and the source, so you can match a bike to the riding you plan.
B.C. law sorts e-bikes into "standard e-bikes" (motor rating 500 W or less in total, no motor push past 32 km/h, a throttle allowed with a separate on/off switch or a 3 km/h start, riders 16 and older) and "light e-bikes" (no throttle, riders 14 and older), under B.C. Reg. 64/2024 s. 3 to s. 9. BC Parks, Recreation Sites and Trails BC and RDNO use classes borrowed from the US system instead: Class 1 is pedal-assist only to 32 km/h, Class 2 adds a throttle, and Class 3 reaches 45 km/h. Every bike we recommend here is a standard e-bike, which those owners count as Class 2.
| Trail (owner) | Throttle e-bike | Pedal-assist only (Class 1) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Okanagan Rail Trail, Kelowna section (City of Kelowna) | Yes | Yes | City of Kelowna trail page |
| Okanagan Rail Trail, Lake Country section (District of Lake Country) | Yes, under the trail's own rules | Yes | okanaganrailtrail.ca (page dated January 2020) |
| Okanagan Rail Trail, Coldstream section (RDNO) | Yes, since 15 June 2022; Class 3 barred | Yes | RDNO Bylaw 2834 s. 8; board resolution of 15 June 2022 |
| Okanagan Rail Trail, 2.6 km through IR 7 (Okanagan Indian Band) | Not formally open | Not formally open | City of Kelowna, 25 March 2026; Castanet, 5 August 2026 |
| Kelowna paved shared-use paths (City of Kelowna) | Yes | Yes | City of Kelowna bike routes page |
| Mission Creek Greenway and other RDCO regional parks | Yes, on trails signed for cycling, 15 km/h unless posted | Yes, same | RDCO Bylaw 1427 s. 9 |
| Knox Mountain Park (City of Kelowna) | Not stated: two readings | Not stated: two readings | City park page; Parks Bylaw 10680 s. 3.24 |
| Myra Canyon trestles, Myra-Bellevue Park (BC Parks) | No | Yes, on signed or designated trails | BC Parks |
| Kettle Valley Rail Trail outside the park (Recreation Sites and Trails BC) | Only on stretches shared with motor traffic | Yes, unless e-bikes are prohibited | RSTBC e-bike policy section 7.2; trail record REC31979 |
| Gillard network (Recreation Sites and Trails BC) | No, by RSTBC's default for trails without motor traffic | Yes, unless e-bikes are prohibited | RSTBC record REC204662; policy section 7.2 |
| Smith Creek network, West Kelowna (Recreation Sites and Trails BC) | No, by the same default | Yes, unless e-bikes are prohibited | RSTBC record REC257673; policy section 7.2 |
| Crawford trails inside Myra-Bellevue Park (BC Parks) | No | Yes, on signed or designated trails | BC Parks |
A throttle e-bike that meets B.C.'s rules covers the Okanagan Rail Trail, Kelowna's paved paths and the Greenway. The trestles and the mountain-bike networks are pedal-assist country.
Okanagan Rail Trail: what changes along the way
Every open section of the Okanagan Rail Trail admits an e-bike that meets B.C.'s rules, throttle included, and bars bikes with a gas engine. Four owners run it, each responsible for the sections inside its own boundaries: the City of Kelowna, the District of Lake Country, the Okanagan Indian Band and the Regional District of North Okanagan (RDNO). The trail was still not continuous when its newest stretch opened on 5 August 2026.
- Kelowna section: the City's trail page (Internet Archive copy, 1 February 2026) says "Electricity powered electronic bicycles or motor-assisted cycles, in accordance with the B.C. Motor Assisted Cycle Regulation, are allowed." It adds that electric kick scooters may use the trail within Kelowna (City of Kelowna).
- Lake Country section: the trail's own website lists the same motor-assisted cycles as allowed, on a page last updated in January 2020, and the District of Lake Country's trails page names no separate e-bike rule (Okanagan Rail Trail; District of Lake Country).
- Coldstream section: RDNO runs the section in the District of Coldstream and its Area B, with access at Westkal Road, Kekuli Bay Provincial Park and College Way.
- Maps and closures: RDNO points riders to the trail's website for "Trip planning tips and an interactive map", and the trail's full-trail page links an "interactive trail map, including current closures" (RDNO; Okanagan Rail Trail; the interactive map).
RDNO's Bylaw 2834 calls a throttle-equipped Class 2 e-bike a motorized vehicle and, in s. 8, keeps motorized vehicles off its trails unless an area is designated or signed for them; the same bylaw says motor assisted cycles are not motorized vehicles. On 15 June 2022 its board resolved that "e-bikes consistent with the Province of British Columbia’s Motor Assisted Cycle Regulation (Class 1 & 2) be designated as a permitted use on the Okanagan Rail Trail". That reversed a 2021 restriction, and Class 3 bikes stay barred. Source: RDNO Bylaw 2834 (consolidation of May 2024); the resolution as reported by Beach Radio Kelowna, 16 June 2022.
On 5 August 2026 the City opened 3.2 km on its own land between Old Vernon Road and the Lake Country boundary near Beaver Lake Road. The 2.6 km through Okanagan Indian Band reserve land (IR 7) will not formally open until a federal land transfer is finished and the band council approves public use, so the trail is not yet continuous between Kelowna and Lake Country. Source: City of Kelowna, 25 March 2026; Castanet, 5 August 2026.
Length, pavement and parking: the City says the trail "will span 49.5 km from Coldstream to Kelowna's downtown" once complete, while the trail's website says it "stretches over 60km". The City paved most of its section, from Gordon Drive to Bulman Road, about 10.5 km of the 14 km it had built by the time of its February 2026 page, which also warns that parking is limited at some access points.
Taubik Blackburn 275T
From $2,799 CADWho it is for. Riders who will spend most of their time on the Rail Trail's paved Kelowna section and the city's shared paths.
The honest part. It has a thumb throttle (Taubik's manual), so Myra Canyon's trestles are off the list for it.
Read on. Maker figures from its Canadian page, read 3 November 2026; Zeus price on 3 November 2026.
Planning the Rail Trail? Call 1-866-938-7580 and we will match one of the 19 bikes below to the sections you plan to ride.
Compare the 19 picksMyra Canyon trestles: pedal-assist only
Myra Canyon's 18 Kettle Valley trestles sit inside Myra-Bellevue Park, where BC Parks allows Class 1 (pedal-assist only) e-bikes on signed or designated trails and says Class 2 and 3 bikes are usually allowed where motor vehicles are permitted. BC Parks also says "Motorized vehicles are prohibited on the Myra Canyon section of the KVR and within the park", so its rule leaves no place for a throttle e-bike on the trestles.
- The rule in BC Parks' words: "Class 1 e-bikes are allowed where cycling is already permitted, unless signs indicate that a trail is closed to e-bikes", and "Class 2 and 3 e-bikes are usually allowed where motor vehicles are permitted, such as on roads and off-roading tracks" (BC Parks, cycling; BC Parks, Myra-Bellevue Park).
- The trestles today: all 18 decks were replaced and widened from 1.5 to 2.75 metres, work completed in summer 2024, and the Myra Station lot gained 60 spaces plus 12 for buses and trailers (B.C. government, 22 July 2025).
- Getting there: BC Parks says the trestles are reached from Ruth Station (Little White Forest Service Road) and Myra Station (Myra Forest Service Road), southeast of Kelowna. Both accesses leave McCulloch Road: for Myra Station, BC Parks gives 8 km of gravel forest service road to the main parking area; for the Little White access, 6 km of paved June Springs Road, then 4.5 km of unpaved forest service road. Its advisory, updated 31 July 2024, says the KVR at a May 2023 landslide site is open to bikes but closed to road vehicles.
- Renting for the trestles: the same rule covers a rented e-bike, so ask for a pedal-assist-only (Class 1) model; a throttle puts an e-bike in Class 2 (BC Parks).
Each one has a throttle or a pure-electric mode, by its maker's page, its manual or our listing, so BC Parks counts it as Class 2 at Myra Canyon. BC Parks' current pages do not say whether switching off or removing a throttle makes a bike Class 1, so ask the park before you try it. For the trestles, ride a pedal-assist-only e-bike or a regular bicycle.
Myra Canyon's trestles are closed to a throttle e-bike. Plan them on a pedal-assist-only bike, and use a throttle bike for the Rail Trail and the city's paths.
Kettle Valley Rail Trail toward Penticton
Outside Myra-Bellevue Park the Kettle Valley Rail Trail is a provincial recreation trail run by Recreation Sites and Trails BC, and its e-bike rule turns on motor traffic. Under section 7.2 of RSTBC's e-bike policy, every class may ride trails open to both motorized and non-motorized use, Class 1 bikes may ride non-motorized trails unless e-bikes are prohibited, and Class 2 and 3 bikes may not ride trails that prohibit motorized vehicles.
- Which stretches carry motor traffic: RSTBC's trail record warns riders to "Be mindfull of those sections of the trail with both motorized and non motorized use" without naming them (RSTBC, REC31979). Visit Penticton names them two ways on one page: in one place, the multi-use sections run "from Little Tunnel in Naramata to Ruth Station in Kelowna"; in another, "from Little Tunnel to Glenfir Station, and again from Chute Lake to Ruth Station" (Visit Penticton).
- How long is it? Visit Penticton describes the whole trail as "Stretching 660 km from Hope, BC to Castlegar, BC" (Visit Penticton).
- Is it open? On 3 November 2026 RSTBC listed closures from Trout Crossing to Summerland after the Bald Range Fire, on the 67 km from Princeton to Brodie Siding after flooding, and at the trail's 93 km mark, about 25 km north of Beaverdell. Visit Penticton adds that the Adra Tunnel closes in winter.
- Is it paved? RSTBC recommends "a gravel bike or a mountain bike with wider tires": some sections are relatively smooth, others have loose gravel, sand and washboard. Visit Penticton puts the ride from Penticton to Little Tunnel at about 16 km one way.
Taubik Tour S
$2,899 CADWho it is for. Riders who want wide tires for the gravel, sand and washboard RSTBC describes on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail.
The honest part. It has a thumb throttle (Taubik's manual), so ride it on the KVR's stretches shared with motor traffic, not inside Myra-Bellevue Park.
Read on. Maker figures from its Canadian page, read 3 November 2026; Zeus price on 3 November 2026.
Kelowna's paved paths and the Mission Creek Greenway
Kelowna's own paths welcome e-bikes: the City says its "more than 35 kilometres of paved shared-use pathways" are open to e-bikes and e-scooters, and the same page counts 40 km of separated paved multi-use paths. The Mission Creek Greenway is a regional park, where a motor assisted cycle rides trails signed for cycling at 15 km/h unless another limit is posted.
- City pathways the City names: the Waterfront Pathway downtown, the Okanagan Rail Trail, the Lakeshore Road pathway between Boyce-Gyro Beach and Cook Road, Houghton Road, the Cawston Avenue pathway between Gordon Drive and Water Street, and the Glenmore Road pathway. Its bike map comes as a PDF, an interactive map and a print copy (City of Kelowna, bike routes).
- The Greenway and other regional parks: RDCO lists the Mission Creek Greenway among its regional parks. Its Bylaw 1427 counts a motor assisted cycle as a cycle, allows it on "a trail designated for such use by a sign or a posted notice" (s. 9(n)) and sets 15 km/h unless otherwise posted (s. 9(g)) (RDCO Bylaw 1427; RDCO, park use).
- Lake Country: a paved path runs from Winfield to Oyama along the west side of Wood Lake and joins the Rail Trail at its north end.
Samebike CY20 Pro
$999 CADWho it is for. Riders who drive to a trailhead such as a Rail Trail access point and want a bike that folds into the car. Compare more in our folding e-bike guide.
The honest part. The thumb throttle Samebike lists makes it a Class 2 bike in BC Parks' terms, so it stays off the trestles. Samebike's Canadian page gives two motor figures: "Motor: 500W" in its spec line and, in images on the same page, a 250 W rated motor with a 25 km/h default speed. Both are within B.C.'s 500 W limit; ask us which motor the bike we ship carries. Its manual lets the owner remove the speed limit: keep it at 32 km/h.
Read on. Maker figures from its Canadian page, read 3 November 2026; Zeus price on 3 November 2026.
On city paths and the Greenway the rule is the same for a throttle bike as for a pedal bike: stay on trails signed for cycling, and keep to 15 km/h in regional parks unless a sign says otherwise.
Knox Mountain and the mountain-bike networks
Knox Mountain Park welcomes pedal bikes, but the City's page does not say whether e-bikes count, and Gillard and Smith Creek are provincial recreation trails whose records list mountain biking alone. Under RSTBC's default, those networks take Class 1 e-bikes unless e-bikes are prohibited and keep throttle bikes off, and all 19 of our picks have a throttle.
- Knox Mountain Park: the City's page (Internet Archive copy, 27 August 2026) lists "pedal biking (road, cross country and downhill)" and bars "Motorized vehicles, including motorcycles, electric motorcycles, and electric scooters" outside Knox Mountain Drive. Its Parks Bylaw 10680, in the 2015 consolidation we could read in full, lets bicycles use designated pathways or roads (s. 3.24) without naming e-bikes. Read one way, an e-bike is a bicycle; read the other, it is a motor vehicle, so ask the City. Vehicles may use the Drive to the first lookout from 12 to 8 p.m. in the frost-free season, except during closures such as extreme wildfire risk (City of Kelowna, Knox Mountain Park).
- Gillard: RSTBC calls it "a very popular mountain biking trail network near Kelowna" with trails "mostly intermediate to advanced", operated by the Mountain Bikers of the Central Okanagan. Its parking lot is closed from 3 to 6 November 2026 for pile burning while the trails stay open (RSTBC, REC204662).
- Smith Creek, West Kelowna: RSTBC calls it "a very popular network of mountain biking and hiking trails" with "trails for all levels of ability", managed with the West Kelowna Trail Crew Society (RSTBC, REC257673).
- Crawford: the Crawford trails inside Myra-Bellevue Park follow BC Parks' class rule above.
RSTBC's 2019 policy calls a Class 2 e-bike a motor vehicle and keeps it off trails that prohibit motorized vehicles (section 7.2(c)). The same policy lets "Class 1 e-bikes / MAC" ride trails open to non-motorized use (section 7.2(b)), and its definition of a motor assisted cycle covers a 500 W bike whose motor stops when the rider "releases the accelerator". Until RSTBC says otherwise, treat a throttle bike as Class 2 on these networks (RSTBC e-bike policy).
Which of our bikes fit Kelowna's trails?
All 19 bikes below have a throttle or a pure-electric mode, so each fits the Rail Trail, the city's paths and the Greenway, and none fits Myra Canyon's trestles. On its maker's Canadian product page, read on 3 November 2026, each is listed at a continuous rating of 500 W or less in total and a top assisted speed of 32 km/h or less, the limits in our B.C. e-bike laws guide.
Most can also be set faster. Of the 15 whose manuals we found, 11 document a way to raise or remove the speed limit. Samebike's say "you can also choose to remove the speed limit setting" (RS-A01 Pro-T manual, p. 5). Taubik's for the Escape S, Monaco S and Vista 26 say the maximum speed "can be adjusted" (Taubik display manual).
Meigi's Zeus trike display sets it from 25 to 40 km/h (Meigi MG1703 display manual), its Silverado manual lists speed-limit and max-speed settings (Meigi MG2301 manual), and Meet One's Breeze 2.0 display offers 25 or 51 km/h (Meet One display manual).
Keep any of them at 32 km/h or less: set higher, a bike is outside B.C.'s e-bike rules. Samebike Canada's RS-A01 Pro-T page also shows a review thumbnail printing "40 Km/h" beside a linked review titled "THE 28MPH STEALTHY EBIKE!" (Samebike Canada). We found no published manual for the three Addmotor bikes, and Samebike Canada links none for the 20LVXD30-II. Each row below says what its maker documents.
| Bike | Type | Motor, in the maker's words | Top assisted speed (maker) | Zeus price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taubik Blackburn 275T | 27.5″ hybrid | "MOTOR 500W Sutto (70 NM)" | 32 km/h | From $2,799 |
| Taubik Vista 26 | Step-thru commuter | "MOTOR 500W Sutto (68 NM)" | 32 km/h; its manual says the maximum speed can be adjusted | $2,399 |
| Taubik Westridge 29T | 29″ hardtail | "MOTOR 500W Sutto (65 NM)" | 32 km/h | $2,999 |
| Taubik Tour S | Fat tire, 26 × 4 | "MOTOR 500W Bafang (80 NM)" | 32 km/h | $2,899 |
| Addmotor CityPro E-43 | Commuter | "500W Rear Brushless Gear Motor" | 32 km/h (20 mph) | $1,399 |
| Samebike RS-A01 Pro-T | Step-thru commuter | 350 W in its spec line; 500 W in its description | 32 km/h in its spec line; its manual lets the owner remove the limit; its page shows a review thumbnail printing 40 km/h | $1,199 |
| Samebike CY20 Pro | Folding, 20″ | 500 W in its spec line; 250 W rated in images on the page | 32 km/h; its manual lets the owner remove the limit | $999 |
| Samebike CY20 | Folding, 20″ | "350W Motor" | 32 km/h; its manual lets the owner remove the limit | $1,000 |
| Samebike 20LVXD30-II | Folding, 20″ | "350W Motor" | 32 km/h | $1,000 |
| Samebike C05 Pro | Folding fat tire, step-thru | 350 W in its spec line; 500 W in its description | 32 km/h; its manual lets the owner remove the limit | $1,399 |
| Samebike RS-A02 Pro | Folding fat tire | 500 W in its spec line; 250 W in its feature text | 32 km/h on its page; its manual lets the owner remove the limit | $1,399 |
| Taubik Escape S | Folding fat tire | "MOTOR 500W Integrated SUTTO (68 NM)" | 32 km/h; its manual says the maximum speed can be adjusted | $2,599 |
| Taubik Monaco S | Folding, 3″ tires | "MOTOR 500W SUTTO (68 NM)" | 32 km/h; its manual says the maximum speed can be adjusted | $2,899 |
| Addmotor Citytri E-310 | Folding trike | "500W Rear-Drive Motor" | 32 km/h (20 mph) | From $1,899 |
| Meigi Hera | Trike | "350W motor" | 24 km/h (15 mph) | $1,799 |
| Meet One Breeze 2.0 | Folding trike | 500 W in Meet One's comparison table | 32 km/h; its display manual offers a 25 or 51 km/h limit | From $2,599 |
| Meigi Zeus fat-tire trike | Fat-tire trike | "up to 500W high speed brushless Motor" | 32 km/h (20 mph); its display manual sets the limit from 25 to 40 km/h | $2,928 |
| Meigi Silverado HD | Fat-tire trike | "The 500W motor" | 24 km/h (15 mph); its manual lists speed-limit and max-speed settings | $3,699 |
| Addmotor SpytanX Reverse | Reverse trike | "Its 250W motor" | 24 km/h (15 mph) | $3,899 |
Prices are Zeus's on 3 November 2026. Where a maker prints two motor figures on one Canadian page, both are shown; the B.C. test reads the continuous rating, which for these four is 500 W or less either way.
Addmotor Citytri E-310
From $1,899 CADWho it is for. Riders who want three wheels for the Greenway and the Rail Trail's flat stretches. More three-wheel options are in our electric trike guide.
The honest part. Its throttle keeps it off Myra Canyon's trestles, and a trike is wider than a bike on shared paths.
Read on. Maker figures from its Canadian page, read 3 November 2026; Zeus price on 3 November 2026.
Not sure which one suits your rides? Call us at 1-866-938-7580 and tell us where you plan to ride.
Call 1-866-938-7580Rules on every Kelowna trail
Whichever trail you choose, B.C.'s e-bike regulation still applies: a standard e-bike, which every one of our 19 picks is when set at 32 km/h or less, is for riders 16 and older, its motor must not push it past 32 km/h on level pavement, and riders wear a bicycle helmet labelled with a standard on B.C.'s list, with narrow exemptions. Local bylaws then add speed limits and sidewalk rules.
- Age: B.C. Reg. 64/2024 s. 9(1) bars anyone under 16 from a standard e-bike on a highway, and s. 8(1) bars anyone under 14 from a light e-bike. Under s. 10, riders under 16 may not carry or tow a passenger.
- Helmet: it must carry a label showing a standard on B.C.'s list: CSA D113.2-M89, Snell B-95, B-90, B-90S or N-94, ASTM F1447-94 or ANSI Z90.4-1984 (B.C. Reg. 234/96 s. 1; B.C. Reg. 261/96 s. 2). US CPSC and European EN 1078 helmets are not on that list.
- Sidewalks in Kelowna: Traffic Bylaw 8120 s. 9.1.2(a) keeps cyclists off sidewalks unless a traffic control device directs otherwise or the rider is under 12, and e-bike riders must be at least 14 (Kelowna Traffic Bylaw 8120, Part 9).
- Speed in regional parks: 15 km/h unless otherwise posted (RDCO Bylaw 1427 s. 9(g)).
The full province-wide rules, with fines, are in our B.C. e-bike laws guide, and Kelowna's e-bike shops are listed in our Kelowna shop directory.
Ride at 16 or older on a standard e-bike, wear a helmet with a B.C.-listed label, stay off Kelowna's sidewalks, and slow to 15 km/h in regional parks unless posted otherwise.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are e-bikes allowed on the Okanagan Rail Trail?
Yes, on every open section, if the bike meets B.C.'s e-bike rules, and a throttle is fine. The City of Kelowna allows motor-assisted cycles that meet the B.C. regulation and bars bikes with a gas engine. The Regional District of North Okanagan made Class 1 and Class 2 (throttle) e-bikes a permitted use on its section on 15 June 2022, and Class 3 bikes stay barred there. The 2.6 km through Okanagan Indian Band land had not formally opened as of 5 August 2026.
Are e-bikes allowed on the Kettle Valley Rail Trail?
It depends on the section. Inside Myra-Bellevue Park, BC Parks allows pedal-assist-only (Class 1) e-bikes on signed or designated trails and prohibits motor vehicles on the Myra Canyon section, which leaves no place there for a throttle bike. Outside the park, Recreation Sites and Trails BC lets every class ride stretches open to motor traffic and keeps throttle (Class 2) bikes off stretches that prohibit motorized vehicles.
Can I ride a throttle e-bike over the Myra Canyon trestles?
Not under BC Parks' rules. BC Parks allows Class 1 (pedal-assist only) e-bikes where cycling is permitted and says Class 2 and 3 bikes are usually allowed where motor vehicles are permitted, and motor vehicles are prohibited on the Myra Canyon section. Its current pages do not say whether disabling a throttle makes a bike Class 1, so ask the park first.
Is the Okanagan Rail Trail paved?
Partly. The City of Kelowna says it paved most of its section, from Gordon Drive to Bulman Road, about 10.5 km of the 14 km it had built when its February 2026 page was written. Check the surface for the sections beyond Kelowna before you ride.
Can I ride the Okanagan Rail Trail from Kelowna to Vernon?
Not continuously yet. The 2.6 km through Okanagan Indian Band reserve land (IR 7) will not formally open until a federal land transfer is finished and the band council approves public use, and it had not opened when the City opened its stretch north of the airport on 5 August 2026. The trail's north end is in Coldstream, and the City says it will span 49.5 km from Coldstream to downtown Kelowna once complete.
Is the Kettle Valley Rail Trail open?
Parts of it were closed on 3 November 2026: Recreation Sites and Trails BC listed closures from Trout Crossing to Summerland after the Bald Range Fire, on the 67 km from Princeton to Brodie Siding after flooding, and at the trail's 93 km mark, about 25 km north of Beaverdell. Visit Penticton says the Adra Tunnel closes in winter.
Do I need a helmet on an e-bike in B.C.?
Yes, with narrow exemptions. The helmet must carry a label showing a standard on B.C.'s list: CSA D113.2-M89, Snell B-95, B-90, B-90S or N-94, ASTM F1447-94 or ANSI Z90.4-1984 (B.C. Reg. 234/96 s. 1; B.C. Reg. 261/96 s. 2). US CPSC and European EN 1078 helmets are not on that list.
Can I ride an e-bike on Kelowna's mountain-bike trails?
Not a throttle bike, under the land managers' defaults. Gillard and Smith Creek are Recreation Sites and Trails BC networks whose records list mountain biking only, so RSTBC's default keeps Class 2 bikes off them and admits Class 1 bikes unless e-bikes are prohibited. The Crawford trails inside Myra-Bellevue Park follow BC Parks' Class 1 rule, and Knox Mountain Park lists pedal biking without naming e-bikes.
The Bottom Line
Around Kelowna, a throttle e-bike that meets B.C.'s rules covers every open section of the Okanagan Rail Trail, the city's paved paths and the Mission Creek Greenway. Myra Canyon's trestles and the mountain-bike networks call for a pedal-assist-only bike, and the Rail Trail still has a 2.6 km gap through Okanagan Indian Band land.
If you are unsure, call us at 1-866-938-7580 and tell us where you plan to ride. An unused, unopened bike can be returned within 15 days of delivery (15% restocking fee), and our financing guide shows the monthly cost of each option. For hilly rides, our e-bikes for hills guide compares motors and gearing.
Ready to choose? Every one of the 19 picks links to its Zeus page in the table above.
See the 19 picksSources
Every rule and figure above links to the deepest page we could reach: the bylaw PDF, the park's own page, the maker's own product page or manual. The full list follows, with the date each was read; where a City of Kelowna server refused automated reads, the Internet Archive copy we used is dated beside it. Corrections: milad@zeusebikes.ca.
Trail owners, bylaws and policies
- Regional District of North Okanagan, Okanagan Rail Trail: the four owners and their sections. Read 3 November 2026.
- RDNO Parks Regulation Bylaw No. 2834 (consolidated): motorized vehicles and e-bikes on RDNO trails. Read 3 November 2026.
- City of Kelowna, Okanagan Rail Trail: motor assisted cycles allowed; sections and closures. Internet Archive copy of 1 February 2026 (the City's server refuses automated reads).
- Okanagan Rail Trail, Trail etiquette: e-bikes under the B.C. regulation allowed. Read 3 November 2026.
- District of Lake Country, Trails: completed sections open to cyclists. Read 3 November 2026.
- BC Parks, Cycling: e-bike classes and where each may ride. Read 3 November 2026.
- BC Parks, Myra-Bellevue Park: motorized vehicles prohibited on the Myra Canyon section. Read 3 November 2026.
- Recreation Sites and Trails BC, REC31979: the Kettle Valley Rail Trail record. Read 3 November 2026.
- Recreation Sites and Trails BC, REC204662: a mountain-bike network record. Read 3 November 2026.
- Recreation Sites and Trails BC, REC257673: a mountain-bike network record. Read 3 November 2026.
- Recreation Sites and Trails BC, e-bike policy (25 April 2019): default e-bike classes on provincial trails. Read 3 November 2026.
- City of Kelowna, Bike routes and safety tips: paved shared-use pathways open to e-bikes. Internet Archive copy of 9 January 2026 (the City's server refuses automated reads).
- City of Kelowna Traffic Bylaw No. 8120, Part 9: sidewalks and helmets. Internet Archive copy of 7 September 2025 (the City's server refuses automated reads).
- City of Kelowna, Knox Mountain Park: motorized vehicles and pedal biking in the park. Internet Archive copy of 27 August 2026 (the City's server refuses automated reads).
- Regional District of Central Okanagan Regional Parks Bylaw No. 1427: s. 9(g) speed and s. 9(n) cycling trails. Read 3 November 2026.
- RDCO, Park use and regulations: the Mission Creek Greenway and other regional parks. Read 3 November 2026.
News and visitor information
- Beach Radio Kelowna, 16 June 2022: RDNO's vote making Class 1 and 2 e-bikes a permitted use. Read 3 November 2026.
- City of Kelowna news release, 25 March 2026: the 3.2 km section on City land. Internet Archive copy of 26 March 2026 (the City's server refuses automated reads).
- Castanet, 5 August 2026: the opening and the 2.6 km not yet formally open. Read 3 November 2026.
- Government of British Columbia news release, 22 July 2025: the Kettle Valley Rail Trail. Read 3 November 2026.
- Visit Penticton, Kettle Valley Rail Trail: the trail south toward Penticton. Read 3 November 2026.
Makers' pages, manuals and a linked review
- Taubik, Blackburn 275T: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, Vista 26: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, Westridge 29T: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, Tour S: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, Escape S: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, Monaco S: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Taubik, L303 DTK3 display manual (PDF): "The maximum speed of the vehicle can be adjusted". Read 3 November 2026.
- Addmotor Canada, CityPro E-43: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Addmotor Canada, Citytri E-310: motor, speed and throttle. Read 3 November 2026.
- Addmotor Canada, SpytanX Reverse: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, RS-A01 Pro-T: motor figures, speed, and the review carousel (a "40 Km/h" thumbnail). Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, CY20 Pro: "Motor: 500W" and, in its images, a 250 W rated motor. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, CY20: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, 20LVXD30-II: motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, C05 Pro: motor figures and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, RS-A02 Pro: motor figures and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, Manuals and guides: the manual list for each model. Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike, RS-A01 Pro-T user manual (PDF): p. 5, "you can also choose to remove the speed limit setting". Read 3 November 2026.
- Samebike Canada, RS-A02 Pro user manual (PDF): p. 4, "you can also choose to remove the speed limit setting". Read 3 November 2026.
- Dude Stuff, "SAMEBIKE RS-A01 PRO - THE 28MPH STEALTHY EBIKE!" (YouTube): linked from Samebike Canada's RS-A01 Pro-T page. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meigi, Hera (MG708): motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meigi, Zeus fat-tire trike (MG1703): motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meigi, display manual for MG1703 (PDF): the speed limit setting, 25 to 40 km/h. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meigi, Silverado HD (MG2301): motor and speed. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meigi, MG2301/MG2302 user manual (PDF): speed-limit and max-speed display settings. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meet One Canada, Breeze Pro 2.0: the comparison table giving the Breeze 2.0's 500 W. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meet One Canada, Breeze 2.0: speed and throttle. Read 3 November 2026.
- Meet One, Breeze 2.0 display manual (PDF): section 6.8, a 25 or 51 km/h speed limit. Read 3 November 2026.






Share:
Best Electric Bikes for Ottawa (2026): 11 Picks by Rider Type
E-Bikes in Canada 2026: Prices, Rules, Where to Buy + 14 Picks