FREESKY is a Chinese e-bike brand. Two of its battery packs carry published TÜV SÜD certificates to CAN/UL 2271 in the manufacturer's name, GuangZhou Yansan Science & Technology Co., Ltd of Guangzhou. Freesky itself sells into Canada two ways: its own Canadian store (ca.freeskycycle.com) and the 15 independent dealers on its own dealer list, one of which is Zeus eBikes. A separate website, freeskyebike.ca, trades as "Freesky E-Bikes Canada"; it is a third-party reseller, not Freesky. The domain's public registration (CIRA WHOIS) names Alien Adventures Inc., a BC corporation whose Surrey shop does appear on Freesky's dealer list as "Alien E-Bike Rentals"; the site itself never names its operator. No recall or safety warning was found at CPSC or Health Canada. The two things every buyer must know: each seller's warranty covers only its own sales, and every current model, as listed by Freesky, exceeds the 500 W / 32 km/h limits the provinces apply to power-assisted bicycles. Seven green flags and eight cautions below.
FREESKY eBikes Canada (2026): Verified Brand Profile
Zeus eBikes is listed on Freesky's own Find a Dealer page (Brantford, Ontario) and lists thirteen Freesky bikes plus Freesky batteries and parts; stock varies by model. That is a commercial relationship, and you should read this profile knowing it. Our rule for the directory does not change because of it: every claim below is sourced to a named primary, the gaps we could not close are labelled as gaps, and the cautions are stated at full strength. If you think our interest has coloured a judgment, tell us: milad@zeusebikes.ca.
In This Profile
Who Is FREESKY?
If you are searching FREESKY Canada, you are probably deciding between a Freesky and something else in the $2,000 to $3,000 dual-motor fat-tire class, and you want to know whether the company behind the bike will still answer the phone in year two. Getting this wrong costs you a battery pack or a motor with nobody to call. This profile walks you through what we could prove, what we could not, and which of the three ways to buy a Freesky in Canada leaves you with the clearest recourse. (New to vetting brands? Start with how to spot a legit eBike store in Canada.)
What FREESKY Claims
The brand's About page (freeskycycle.com/pages/about-freesky, read 7 September 2026) says the company "has spent 20 years pioneering the R&D and sales of electric bicycles" and calls itself "a trusted manufacturer."
What freeskyebike.ca Claims (a Reseller, Not Freesky)
A separate website, freeskyebike.ca, trades as "Freesky E-Bikes Canada." It is not Freesky's site: Freesky's own Canadian store is ca.freeskycycle.com, and Freesky's Find a Dealer page does not list "Freesky E-Bikes Canada" or freeskyebike.ca. The site calls itself an "Authorized FREESKY® Dealer" and "Authorized Agent," says it is "part of the FREESKY CANADA network" with "Two locations in BC | Vancouver Plaza of Nations & Surrey," and advertises a "2 Year Local Canadian Warranty." None of those pages names the company behind the site. The public domain registration does: the CIRA WHOIS record for freeskyebike.ca (domain created 21 June 2025, checked 7 September 2026) lists the registrant organization as Alien Adventures Inc, and BC's registry (OrgBook BC) shows Alien Adventures Inc. as an active BC company, incorporation number BC1453177, registered 5 December 2023. Alien's Surrey shop is on Freesky's dealer list as "Alien E-Bike Rentals." So the "authorized dealer" claim is consistent with Freesky's own list; the "FREESKY CANADA network" and "Two locations in BC" claims are the reseller's own wording for its Surrey shop and Vancouver rental site, and Freesky publishes nothing that uses that phrase. Treat freeskyebike.ca throughout this profile as an authorized dealer's own store trading under the Freesky name.
What the Primary Sources Show
The manufacturer's own site, yansancycle.com, did not resolve on 7 September 2026 (DNS failure on both the bare and www hosts). The Internet Archive's capture of 21 March 2024 reads: "Guangzhou Yansan Technology ('FREESKY') Co.,Ltd is a professional bicycle & electric bike manufacturer. Through 15 years of development, Yansan has become a leading company with 45,000 square meters factory. We can offer OEM & ODM services. Our bikes are exported to more than 80 countries." The strongest third-party confirmation of the manufacturer is not a website at all: the two TÜV SÜD America certificates Freesky publishes on its product pages name the certificate holder as GuangZhou Yansan Science & Technology Co., Ltd, 202, Building 6, No. 25 Min'an North Road, Tanbu Town, Huadu District, Guangzhou, brand name FREESKY.
The "20 years" and "15 years" figures cannot both be the retail brand's age, and a third data point argues for a much younger brand: ca.freeskycycle.com sells a "FREESKY 5th Anniversary Gift Box" (with a "5th Anniversary Commemorative Card") in 2026, and the Internet Archive's first capture of freeskycycle.com is 9 December 2021. Our reading, which is an inference and not a registry fact: the retail brand is about five years old, and the "15" and "20" figures describe the factory's history. Neither entity's incorporation date was verified against a corporate registry.
Where Are FREESKY eBikes Made?
Guangzhou, China, at the Huadu District factory named on the TÜV SÜD certificates. Bikes ship to Canadian buyers from stock: the brand's shipping policy (read 7 September 2026) promises free shipping on e-bikes to the ten provinces (not the territories), dispatch within one to two business days for in-stock orders, FedEx as the default carrier, and delivery in two to ten business days. Parts and accessories ship from a US or Canadian warehouse in three to ten business days, or from China in about two weeks if local stock is out, with any duties on China-shipped parts payable by the buyer.
Battery Cells and Certificates
Freesky's spec tables name the cell supplier on some models and not others: Samsung / LG on the Rocky Pro A-320, Ranger Plus M-540 and Warrior Pro M-530; LG on the Swift Horse Ultra X-6E and Warrior Ultra M-530; no cell brand named on the Eurostar Turbo M-410, Ranger Air M-540, Alaska Pro M-520 or Cheetah MT-380. Two packs carry published TÜV SÜD certificates to UL 2271:2018 and CAN/UL 2271:2018: model FP4830R0 (47.19 V nominal, 29.4 Ah rated, certificate U10 128702 0001, 17 March 2025) and model FP4818R0 (48.1 V, 18 Ah, certificate U10 128702 0009, 19 September 2025). Both are rated IP33 and both certificates note the battery "is used for off-road LEVs." No certificate was published for the 25 Ah, 35 Ah, 27 Ah or 60 Ah packs on the pages we reviewed.
Motors, Sensors and Serviceability
Freesky names Bafang as the motor maker on one model only, the Swift Horse Ultra X-6E; every other spec table says "Brushless Peak Motor" without a brand. Of the seven models whose spec tables we harvested on 4 September 2026, six list a cadence sensor and only the Rocky Pro lists a torque-plus-cadence sensor; the two Warrior models' sensor type was not confirmed. Published power figures are peak watts only; no nominal (continuous) rating is published. Freesky sells replacement motors, displays and controllers through its parts collection, and Zeus stocks a Freesky replacement motor and Freesky batteries in Canada, which matters more than a motor brand when something fails in year three.
Ownership, Corporate Structure & the Canadian Channels
Corporate Entity
Two entities appear in primary sources. The manufacturer, GuangZhou Yansan Science & Technology Co., Ltd (TÜV SÜD certificates; the archived manufacturer site uses "Guangzhou Yansan Technology Co., Ltd" with a different Huadu District address, Room A1103, Yingjun Commercial Building, Yingbin Road). And the seller: freeskycycle.com's Contact page names HONGKONG FREESKYCYCLE CO., LIMITED, 45 Hoi Yuen Road, Room 02, 21st Floor, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, and the brand's test-ride waiver releases "HONGKONGFREESKYCYCLE CO., LIMITED" from liability. We did not verify that company against the Hong Kong Companies Registry (its search requires an account), and a third-party directory search returned no match, which is inconclusive. The brand's Trustpilot profile gives a US address, 1500 N Grant St Ste R, Denver, CO 80203; Colorado Secretary of State records republished by OpenCorpData and OpenGovCO show that address as the registered office of Colorado Registered Agents Inc and Registered Agent Inc, both registered-agent service providers. That is consistent with a registered-agent mailing address; we found no evidence either way of a staffed US office.
How Freesky Sells in Canada, and Who Else Uses the Name
Freesky's own channels are two. (1) ca.freeskycycle.com, the brand's own Canadian store, priced in CAD, first captured by the Internet Archive on 12 November 2024; its warranty policy applies only to orders placed on the brand site. (2) Independent dealers on Freesky's Find a Dealer page, 15 of them in Canada, including Zeus. Separately, freeskyebike.ca trades as "Freesky E-Bikes Canada": a Shopify store whose Terms say it "operates this store and website," whose footer reads "Freesky E-Bikes Canada Authorized Agent," and whose warranty applies only to its own sales; it listed nine products on 7 September 2026. It is not Freesky's own store, and it is not on Freesky's dealer list under that name; its domain is registered to Alien Adventures Inc., whose Surrey shop is on that list as "Alien E-Bike Rentals" (see below). Neither site names the other, and Freesky publishes nothing that confirms or denies the site's "authorized" status beyond listing Alien as a dealer. Freesky's dealer page says bikes bought through those offline channels "are also covered by FREESKY's warranty," while its warranty policy says dealer buyers should "refer to their respective warranty policies." Those two sentences do not agree, and that is why you get the warranty holder's name in writing before you pay.
Canadian Registration & Tax
We searched OrgBook BC, the public copy of BC's business registry, for "freesky" and "freeskyebike" on 7 September 2026: zero results. No GST/HST registration number appears on freeskyebike.ca's home, contact, terms, refund or warranty pages, or on the brand's Canadian store pages. freeskyebike.ca's Terms say disputes follow "the jurisdiction where Freesky E-Bikes Canada is headquartered" without naming a city or province. A federal corporate-registry search could not be run on the day (the registry's search API did not resolve). The legal person behind "Freesky E-Bikes Canada" is not stated anywhere on the site; it is identifiable only from the domain's CIRA WHOIS record (Alien Adventures Inc, incorporation BC1453177). A buyer should not have to run a WHOIS lookup to learn who they are contracting with. That is an absence in the record, not a finding of wrongdoing, and it is the single fact a cautious buyer should resolve before ordering from that site.
The Surrey Address, Checked
The reseller site freeskyebike.ca (not Freesky) lists its "Head Office" as Freesky E-Bikes Canada, 9530 189 Street, Surrey, BC, with phone hours of 8 am to 8 pm Pacific, a "Vancouver Office" number (+1-778-745-2888), a toll-free line (+1-888-755-2887), and test rides "by appointment" at "our Surrey BC Location." It gives no showroom hours and no unit number. Freesky's own Find a Dealer page lists exactly one British Columbia location: "ALIEN E-BIKE RENTALS, Unit 3-9530 189 Street, Surrey, BC, V4N 4W7," phone 604-371-3695. That business's own site, alienebikesandscooters.com, gives the same unit, calls itself a "Freesky cycle Authorized Dealer," and posts shop hours of 10:00 am to 4:30 pm Tuesday to Friday and 11 am to 2 pm Saturday. Its Vancouver rental arm, E-Bike Rentals Vancouver ("a division of Alien Adventures Inc."), operates from 750 Pacific Boulevard beside the Plaza of Nations water-taxi stop, which matches freeskyebike.ca's "Vancouver Plaza of Nations & Surrey" line. Neither site names the other.
What that adds up to: there is no Freesky-operated store in British Columbia. The Surrey address is an independent e-bike rental and sales shop that Freesky lists as a dealer, and freeskyebike.ca, whose domain is registered to that shop's parent company, Alien Adventures Inc, gives the same unit as its head office. If you want to see a Freesky in person in the Lower Mainland, phone Alien's number and confirm the model is on the floor; Freesky's dealer page itself tells buyers to confirm availability before visiting.
Every Canadian Dealer on Freesky's List
Freesky's Find a Dealer page listed 117 locations worldwide on 7 September 2026, 15 of them in Canada. The page asks buyers to email marketing@freeskycycle.com or call the shop before visiting to confirm stock. Reproduced from that page as published:
| Province | Dealer (as listed by Freesky) | Address (as listed) | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | ALIEN E-BIKE RENTALS | Unit 3-9530 189 Street, Surrey, BC, V4N 4W7 | Shopping |
| Alberta | WOW Electric Rides | Units# F20/F21/E22, 260300 Writing Creek Cres Unit # F20, Balzac, AB T4A 0G3 | Shopping |
| Alberta | WOW Electric Rides(Deerfoot Meadows) | Unit# 280, 8180 11th Street SE, Calgary, AB T2H 3B5 (Deerfoot Meadows) | Shopping |
| Alberta | WOW Electric Rides. | Unit# C16, 260300 Writing Creek Cres, Balzac, AB T4A 0G3 | Repair |
| Saskatchewan | Dooly's | 1750 Main St N, Moose Jaw, SK, S6J 1L4 | Shopping |
| Saskatchewan | VR EBIKE DEALER LTD | 327 Stensrud Road Saskatoon SK S7W 1C1 | Shopping |
| Ontario | Buzzify | 388 Carlaw Ave Unit 101B, Toronto, ON M4M 2T4 | Shopping |
| Ontario | EZ Bike | 10 Brodie Dr Unit 4, Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3K8 | Shopping |
| Ontario | Kingsville Cycle Works | 122 Division St S, Kingsville, ON N9Y 1P6 | Shopping |
| Ontario | Spoke & Sprocket | 1890 Hyde Park Rd, London, ON N6H 5L9, Canada | Repair |
| Ontario | The Tire Guyz | 15 Easton St, Cambridge, ON N1R 1G3 | Shopping |
| Ontario | Zeus Ebikes | 340 Henry St Unit 17, Brantford, ON N3S 7R5 | Shopping |
| Quebec | Véhicule Électrique Sherbrooke-01 | 2601 Rue Belvédère Sud, Sherbrooke, QC J1H0A3 | Shopping |
| Quebec | Véhicule Électrique Sherbrooke-02 | 1080 Bel Horizon, Sherbrooke, J1H5G9, Quebec | Shopping |
| New Brunswick | East Coast Solar/Caissie Building Supplies Ltd. | 11301 RTE 126 Rogersville, NB. E4Y2W8 | Shopping |
Source: freeskycycle.com/pages/find-a-dealer, retrieved 7 September 2026. Zeus eBikes' Brantford address is a head office for business and wholesale enquiries; retail buyers order at zeusebikes.ca or call 1-866-938-7580.
Zeus lists thirteen Freesky bikes plus Freesky batteries, a replacement motor and brake pads, ships from Canada, and adds a one-month Zeus complimentary limited warranty on top of Freesky's 24-month motor, battery and controller coverage, with Zeus handling the defect claim in Canada. Current price and stock are on each product page. Questions before you order: 1-866-938-7580.
See Every Freesky Zeus Stocks →Models, Prices & Specs (Brand's Canadian Store, 7 September 2026)
All figures are Freesky's own published specs from ca.freeskycycle.com, read 7 September 2026. Power figures are peak watts as Freesky lists them; Freesky publishes no continuous rating. Speeds are the listed top speeds. Prices are the brand's Canadian-store prices in CAD on that day and change often; Zeus's prices are on the linked product pages.
| Model | Brand CA price | Peak power (listed) | Listed top speed | Battery | Cells named | At Zeus (stock varies) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eurostar Turbo M-410 | $1,949 | 2 × 2,000 W (4,000 W peak) | 34 mph | 48 V 25 Ah | not named | Zeus page |
| Ranger Air M-540 | $1,949 | 2 × 2,000 W (4,000 W peak) | 34 mph | 48 V 25 Ah | not named | Zeus page |
| Rocky Pro A-320 | $2,199 (sold out on brand site) | 2,500 W peak | 33 mph | 48 V 25 Ah | Samsung / LG | Zeus page (sold out on 7 Sept 2026) |
| Swift Horse Ultra X-6E | $2,249 | 4,000 W peak Bafang | 38 mph | 48 V 35 Ah | LG | not listed |
| Cheetah MT-380 | $2,534 (sold out on brand site) | 2 × 2,000 W (4,000 W peak) | 40 mph | 48 V 60 Ah | not named | Zeus page (sold out on 7 Sept 2026) |
| Alaska Pro M-520 | $2,649 | 4,500 W peak | 40 mph assist, 20 mph throttle | 48 V 45 Ah dual (18 + 27 Ah) | not named | Zeus page |
| Warrior Pro M-530 | $2,649 | 2 × 2,000 W (4,000 W peak) | 40 mph | 48 V 30 Ah | Samsung / LG | Zeus page |
| Warrior Ultra M-530 (60 V) | $2,739 (sold out on brand site) | 2 × 3,000 W (6,000 W peak) | 45 mph | 60 V 30 Ah | LG | not listed |
| Ranger Plus M-540 | $2,799 | 2 × 2,500 W (5,000 W peak) | 40 mph | 48 V 30 Ah | Samsung / LG | Zeus page |
Zeus also lists earlier or Canada-market Freesky models that were not on the brand's Canadian store that day, including the Ranger M-540, the Eurostar Ultra M-410, the Swift Horse Pro X-6E (a 3,500 W-peak Bafang model, not the 4,000 W Ultra in the table) and the Wild Cat A-340 step-thru series; their specs are on those pages. Note the Alaska Pro's split rating, 40 mph on pedal assist and 20 mph on throttle, which Freesky states on its page.
The road-legality point, stated plainly. The provinces treat a "power-assisted bicycle" as one with a motor of no more than 500 W and assistance that cuts out at 32 km/h; anything above that is a motor vehicle on public roads, needing registration, insurance and a licence, with the exact rules set province by province since the federal definition was repealed in February 2021. Every model in the table above exceeds both numbers as Freesky lists it. The dealer site freeskyebike.ca says the same on its homepage. Whether a given display setting or controller limit brings a bike within a province's definition is a question for that province's rules and for the seller; this profile does not assert it either way. Read Canadian eBike laws by province before you decide where you will ride.
The Warranty — What Is Stated vs What It Covers
What FREESKY States (brand site, read 7 September 2026)
Orders placed on or after 13 November 2025: 24 months on motor, battery and controller, 12 months on other listed components. Orders before that date: 18 months and 12 months. Original purchaser only, non-transferable, and "applies only to products purchased directly from the official FREESKY website"; marketplace and dealer purchases are directed to "their respective warranty policies." Coverage is repair or replacement parts at Freesky's discretion; labour to fit parts is not included; a refund or whole-bike exchange is expressly excluded. Shipping on warranty parts: motor, battery and controller free for three months, the customer pays 50% in months 4 to 12 and 100% after that; other components free for six months, then 100%. Excluded: consumables (tires, tubes, pads, cables, grips, chain, spokes), water damage, accidents, incorrect assembly, and minor cosmetic issues.
What the Reseller freeskyebike.ca States (Its Own Policy, Not Freesky's; read 7 September 2026)
The same 24-month and 12-month structure, counted from the date you receive the bike, for bikes "purchased directly from freeskyebike.ca and delivered within Canada." Purchases from Amazon.ca or "a local retailer" are sent to that seller's policy. Replacement parts only, no automatic labour. Shipping tiers mirror the brand's, except that for other components in the first six months the site "may cover shipping, in full or in part, at our discretion." Claims go to admin@freeskyebike.ca. The June version of this page said the dealer advertised a "flat 2-year warranty" that differed from the brand's; as of September 2026 the reseller's written policy has the same two tiers as the brand's, and that earlier caution is withdrawn. Whether Freesky stands behind a freeskyebike.ca purchase at all is not stated anywhere by Freesky.
Warranty Reality
Trustpilot's live page for freeskycycle.com on 7 September 2026 showed a TrustScore of 4.9 from 642 reviews: 95% five-star, 3% four-star, under 1% three- and two-star, 1% one-star. The Internet Archive's copy from 14 November 2025 showed 254 reviews at 4.9 and the label "Replied to 100% of negative reviews." Reviewers on that archived page describe a display and controller buttons failing at six months and both parts being shipped, a broken kickstand mount replaced by mail, a wrong fender-guard shipment whose replacement bracket still did not fit, and a "noisy motor drive" still open with the reviewer relying on the warranty. The live page's visible two-star review (8 August 2026) describes a bike that arrived damaged in weak packaging. These are individual accounts, not adjudicated claims. We found no documented pattern of denied warranty claims and no regulator action.
Returns
Both sellers accept returns only with prior authorization and only within 30 days, and both charge the buyer round-trip shipping even on an unopened box: on freeskyebike.ca $400 ($500 from October to December) plus a 5% processing fee within 14 days, plus a 20% restocking fee from day 15 to 30, and up to 50% for a bike ridden under 20 km; on the brand site US$300 plus 5%, then 20%. Budget for that before you buy a bike you have not test-ridden.
Review Authenticity
No evidence of paid, fake or incentivized reviews and no regulator action was found. Freesky runs a refer-a-friend programme paying a 5% to 8% commission on a referred purchase, an affiliate programme, and a community discount; none of those is review-for-pay. A "5.0/5" review page at a third-party domain that the June version flagged could not be retrieved on 7 September 2026 (HTTP 403, no archive copy), so we no longer characterize it.
Safety Record, Certificates & Recalls
On 7 September 2026 the CPSC's recall API returned zero records for "freesky" in recall titles, zero in recall descriptions, and zero for manufacturer "yansan"; a control query for a brand with known recalls returned records, so the lookup was working. Health Canada's recall database returned "No results found" for "freesky" and for "yansan." A search-engine query of cpsc.gov for Freesky surfaced notices for other brands only; the CPSC warnings index itself blocks automated reading, so that leg rests on the search engine. Absence of a recall is not a safety guarantee.
On certification, separate the two standards. UL 2271 (the battery) is documented: two TÜV SÜD certificates, both stating that "for Canadian standards TÜV SÜD America Inc. is accredited by the Standards Council of Canada to ISO/IEC 17065." UL 2849 (the whole electrical system) is described in product-page text as met, but no UL 2849 certificate was published on the pages we reviewed, and packs other than the 18 Ah and 29.4 Ah have no published certificate. If your insurer or building asks for UL 2849, ask Freesky for the certificate by number.
Sources: saferproducts.gov Recall API; recalls-rappels.canada.ca; TÜV SÜD certificates U10 128702 0001 and U10 128702 0009 as published on freeskycycle.com product pages. All checked 7 September 2026.
Verified Green Flags & Cautions
Every item below is sourced to the brand's own pages, a certificate, a government database, or a dated archive capture. Nothing here is added from opinion alone; where we draw an inference, it is labelled as one.
Green Flags (7 found)
- Identifiable manufacturer, confirmed by a third party: two TÜV SÜD America certificates on freeskycycle.com name GuangZhou Yansan Science & Technology Co., Ltd, Huadu District, Guangzhou as the certificate holder for FREESKY-branded batteries (certificates U10 128702 0001, 17 March 2025, and U10 128702 0009, 19 September 2025).
- Battery certification is published rather than merely claimed: those certificates are to UL 2271:2018 and CAN/UL 2271:2018, issued by a body the Standards Council of Canada accredits to ISO/IEC 17065 for Canadian standards. Two packs are covered: model FP4830R0 (47.19 V, 29.4 Ah) and FP4818R0 (48.1 V, 18 Ah), both rated IP33 and noted as for off-road light electric vehicles.
- No recall or safety warning found: CPSC recall API zero results for "freesky" and for manufacturer "yansan", with a working control query; Health Canada recall database "No results found" for both terms (checked 7 September 2026).
- A written warranty with defined tiers on the brand site: 24 months motor, battery and controller; 12 months other listed parts; original owner only; itemised shipping-cost tiers by month of ownership. (The third-party reseller freeskyebike.ca publishes a similar policy of its own.)
- A real physical dealer network in Canada: Freesky's own Find a Dealer page lists 15 locations across British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick (retrieved 7 September 2026), so a buyer in most regions can see a bike before ordering.
- Strong review profile with visible responsiveness: Trustpilot 4.9 from 642 reviews on 7 September 2026, 95% five-star and 1% one-star; the archived 14 November 2025 page shows 254 reviews and "Replied to 100% of negative reviews".
- Even the third-party reseller site freeskyebike.ca states the road-legality limit plainly: its homepage carries a warning that e-bikes exceeding 500 W or 32 km/h are not street legal and must not be ridden on public roads, bike lanes or sidewalks unless the law specifically allows it.
Cautions (8 found)
- Every current model exceeds the 500 W / 32 km/h power-assisted bicycle limits the provinces apply, as listed by Freesky itself: peak power from 2,500 W (Rocky Pro A-320) to 6,000 W (Warrior Ultra M-530) and listed top speeds from 33 mph (53 km/h) to 45 mph (72 km/h). Ridden on a public road or path in that state, such a machine is treated as a motor vehicle. This is a buyer caution about classification, not an allegation of wrongdoing; the dealer site says the same thing.
- The brand's age is stated three different ways: the About page says "20 years"; the manufacturer's archived site says "15 years of development"; the brand's own Canadian store sells a "FREESKY 5th Anniversary Gift Box" in 2026, and the Internet Archive's first capture of freeskycycle.com is 9 December 2021. Our reading (an inference, not a registry fact): the retail brand is about five years old and the factory older.
- The warranty is channel-locked. The brand site's policy applies only to purchases made on freeskycycle.com and sends marketplace and dealer buyers to that seller's policy; the reseller freeskyebike.ca's policy applies only to its own sales and is not Freesky's. Which company owes you a part depends on where you clicked Buy, so get it in writing before paying.
- freeskyebike.ca ("Freesky E-Bikes Canada") is not Freesky and never names its operator on the site: OrgBook BC has no business registered under a "freesky" name; no GST/HST number appears on its pages; its Terms of Service name no governing city or province. Its operator is identifiable only from the CIRA WHOIS record, which names Alien Adventures Inc (BC1453177), the company behind the Surrey dealer Freesky lists as "Alien E-Bike Rentals." A transparency gap, not evidence of wrongdoing.
- Recourse runs offshore for brand-site purchases. The consumer-facing seller named on freeskycycle.com is a Hong Kong company (not checked against the Hong Kong Companies Registry); the US address on its Trustpilot profile, 1500 N Grant St Ste R, Denver, is the registered office of two registered-agent service companies per Colorado Secretary of State records; the manufacturer's own website did not resolve on 7 September 2026.
- UL 2849 is described but undocumented. Product pages call the bikes UL 2849 compliant, but the only certificates published on the pages we reviewed are the two UL 2271 battery certificates above, covering two packs. No certificate was found for the whole-bike standard or for the other battery sizes sold (25 Ah, 35 Ah, 45 Ah dual, 60 Ah).
- Returns are expensive even when the box is unopened: on freeskyebike.ca a return within 14 days costs $400 round-trip shipping ($500 from October to December) plus a 5% processing fee; days 15 to 30 add a 20% restocking fee; a bike ridden under 20 km can be charged up to 50%; nothing is accepted after 30 days. The brand site's policy is similar in US dollars (US$300 shipping, 5% then 20%).
- Delivery-condition complaints exist: the live Trustpilot page on 7 September 2026 shows a two-star review (8 August 2026) of a bike that arrived damaged in weak packaging, and the archived page shows a wrong fender-guard shipment whose replacement bracket still did not fit and a motor-noise issue still open under warranty. Individual accounts, not adjudicated findings.
Frequently Asked Questions — FREESKY Canada
Is FREESKY a legitimate company?
FREESKY is an active brand with an identifiable manufacturer. Two TÜV SÜD America certificates published on freeskycycle.com name the certificate holder as GuangZhou Yansan Science & Technology Co., Ltd, Huadu District, Guangzhou (certificates dated 17 March 2025 and 19 September 2025). Its Find a Dealer page lists 15 Canadian locations across six provinces, including Zeus eBikes in Brantford, Ontario. No recall or safety warning was found in the CPSC recall database or Health Canada's recall database on 7 September 2026. What is not verified: the Hong Kong e-commerce entity named on its contact page was not checked against the Hong Kong Companies Registry, and the BC business behind freeskyebike.ca could not be identified in BC's public registry.
Is FREESKY a Canadian company?
No. FREESKY is a Chinese brand. The manufacturer is in Guangzhou; the consumer-facing entity named on the brand's contact page is HONGKONG FREESKYCYCLE CO., LIMITED in Kowloon, Hong Kong. It sells into Canada two ways: the brand's own Canadian store (ca.freeskycycle.com) and 15 independent dealers on Freesky's own dealer list. A separate website, freeskyebike.ca, trades as Freesky E-Bikes Canada and calls itself an authorized dealer or agent; it is not Freesky's site. Its domain is registered (CIRA WHOIS) to Alien Adventures Inc, an active BC company (BC1453177) whose Surrey shop is on Freesky's dealer list as Alien E-Bike Rentals; the site itself never names that company.
Where are FREESKY eBikes made?
Guangzhou, China. The manufacturer's own site (yansancycle.com, archived by the Internet Archive on 21 March 2024; the domain did not resolve on 7 September 2026) describes Guangzhou Yansan Technology ("FREESKY") Co., Ltd as a bicycle and e-bike factory of 45,000 square metres exporting to more than 80 countries and offering OEM/ODM production. The TÜV SÜD battery certificates give the factory address as 202, Building 6, No. 25 Min'an North Road, Tanbu Town, Huadu District, Guangzhou.
Does FREESKY honour its warranty in Canada?
The published terms are 24 months on motor, battery and controller and 12 months on other listed parts, for the original owner, on the brand site; the third-party reseller freeskyebike.ca publishes a similar policy of its own. The catch is that each seller's policy covers only its own sales: the brand site says purchases through marketplaces or authorized dealers fall under that seller's policy, and freeskyebike.ca says the same in reverse. Replacement parts are supplied; labour is not included; the customer pays part or all of the shipping after the first months. On Trustpilot the brand held a 4.9 TrustScore from 642 reviews on 7 September 2026, with 1% one-star reviews; an archived copy from 14 November 2025 showed the company had replied to 100% of negative reviews. Individual reviewers on that archived page describe replacement displays, controllers and a kickstand being shipped under warranty, and one unresolved noisy-motor complaint.
Has FREESKY had any recalls or safety issues?
None found. On 7 September 2026 the CPSC recall API returned zero records for "freesky" in recall titles and descriptions and zero for manufacturer "yansan" (a control query for another brand returned records, so the lookup was working), and Health Canada's recall database returned "No results found" for both terms. Freesky publishes TÜV SÜD certificates to UL 2271:2018 and CAN/UL 2271:2018 for two battery packs (an 18 Ah and a 29.4 Ah pack). Its pages also describe the bikes as UL 2849 compliant, but no UL 2849 certificate was published on the pages we reviewed. Absence of a recall is not a safety guarantee.
Are FREESKY reviews trustworthy?
We found no evidence of paid or fake reviews and no regulator action. Freesky runs a refer-a-friend programme paying a 5% to 8% commission on a referred purchase and an affiliate programme; neither is review-for-pay. Treat the Trustpilot score as one input: read the one- and two-star reviews yourself, and weigh independent long-term owner reports more heavily than day-of-delivery reviews.
Call 1-866-938-7580 and ask which Freesky fits your terrain and your province's rules, or whether a different bike in our lineup is the better fit. Real humans answer, and we will tell you if a Freesky is the wrong choice for you.
Browse Zeus eBikes — Ships from CanadaYes, on two conditions, and with our interest declared. In our view the brand clears the bar a Canadian buyer should set: a factory named on third-party certificates, a battery standard documented rather than merely claimed, no recall in either country's database, a written two-tier warranty, a 4.9 Trustpilot score across 642 reviews, and 15 Canadian dealers you can walk into. Condition one: buy from the channel whose warranty you have confirmed in writing, because each seller's policy covers only its own sales. Condition two: accept that every Freesky, as listed, is above provincial power-assisted-bicycle limits, and plan where and how you will ride it accordingly. The gaps we could not close, the Hong Kong entity, the reseller trading as "Freesky E-Bikes Canada" without naming itself, and the absent UL 2849 certificate, are reasons to buy from a Canadian business you can name rather than reasons to walk away.
Before buying: get the warranty holder's name and your order number in one written line; ask for the UL certificate by number if your insurer needs it; read your province's rules. If you buy from Zeus, the published return policy is 15 days from delivery for unused, unopened bikes with a 15% restocking fee and return shipping at your cost; you also get a Canadian phone line at 1-866-938-7580 and financing at checkout. Corrections and replies from FREESKY: milad@zeusebikes.ca.




Share:
Benno Bikes Canada (2026): Premium Bosch Cargo eBike — Verified Review & Verdict
Hyper Bicycles Canada (2026): Verified Brand Profile